Skip to content Skip to navigation

Vermont Speaker of the House

Shap Smith

The Vermont House of Representatives if the lower house of the Vermont General Assembly. The Legislature is formally known as the "General Assembly," but the “Legislature” is also used to refer to the body. Members of the House are elected by single and two-member districts. 58 districts choose one member, and 46 choose two, with the term of service being two years. The Vermont House of Representatives meets in Representative Hall at the Vermont State House in the state capital of Montpelier.