Skip to content Skip to navigation

New Jersey Senate President

Stephen M. Sweeney

The New Jersey Senate is the upper house of the New Jersey state legislature. Senators are elected in a "2-4-4" cycle, with Senators serving for two years after redistricting, followed by two four-year terms, with no term limits.  This was put in place so that Senate elections can reflect the changes made to the district boundaries on the basis of the US Census. Elections for the Senate take place in years ending with a "1", "3" or "7.” The Senate meets in the New Jersey State House in Trenton.

99 Chambers: NJ State Senate